National Society of Film Critics Announces Winners for Best Films of the Year

Los Angeles, California – The National Society of Film Critics, an organization of over 60 prominent critics from across the country, is currently voting on its selections for the best films from the past year. Founded in 1966, the NSFC annually chooses the best picture, director, actor, actress, supporting actor and actress, screenplay, cinematography, and other categories. These categories may also include awards for films not in the English language, nonfiction films, production design, and film heritage.

The group started the voting process by recognizing special awards for various organizations in the film industry. Criterion Channel, Facets, Kim’s Video, Scarecrow Video, and Vidiots were all acknowledged for their contributions to maintaining wide-ranging libraries of films. The NSFC praised Criterion for its extensive collection of films, including American independents, world cinema, short films, and classic Hollywood. Facets, Kim’s Video, Scarecrow Video, and Vidiots were commended for making their film libraries accessible to the public.

The voting process for the awards is conducted using a weighted ballot system. Members vote for their top three choices, with the first choice receiving three points, the second choice receiving two points, and the third choice receiving one point. The nominee with the most points and appearing on the majority of ballots is declared the winner. If no winner is determined on the first ballot, further rounds of voting are conducted until a nominee receives the most points and appears on the majority of ballots.

Last year, the NSFC awarded “Tár” as the best film of 2022, with Cate Blanchett winning best actress for her role and Todd Field receiving the best screenplay award. Colin Farrell won best actor for his performances in “The Banshees of Inisherin” and “After Yang,” while Kerry Condon was named best supporting actress for her role in “The Banshees.”

This year’s winners include Andrew Scott for best actor in “All of Us Strangers” with Jeffrey Wright and Cillian Murphy as runners-up. Sandra Hüller took home the best actress award for her roles in “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Interest,” with Emma Stone and Lily Gladstone as the runners-up. In the supporting actor category, Charles Melton won for “May December” with Robert Downey Jr. and Ryan Gosling tying as runners-up for their roles in “Oppenheimer” and “Barbie” respectively. Da’Vine Joy Randolph was named best supporting actress for “The Holdovers” with Penélope Cruz and Rachel McAdams as runners-up.

Rodrigo Prieto won best cinematography for “Killers of the Flower Moon,” and Jean Luc-Godard’s “Trailer of a Film That Will Never Exist: Phony Wars” received the award for best experimental film. The Criterion Channel received the film heritage award, along with Facets, Kim’s Video, Scarecrow Video, and Vidiots. Víctor Erice’s “Close Your Eyes” received a special citation for a film awaiting U.S. distribution.

The National Society of Film Critics’ annual awards celebrate the best of the film industry each year, highlighting exceptional performances, direction, and technical achievements.