National Society of Film Critics Awards: ‘Past Lives’ Takes Home Best Picture, Andrew Scott Wins Best Actor

New York and Los Angeles hosted the 58th annual film awards ceremony of the National Society of Film Critics on Saturday. This event recognized outstanding achievements in the film industry, celebrating a diverse mix of small independent films and major studio projects. Celine Song’s directorial debut, “Past Lives,” took home the coveted Best Picture award, triumphing over strong contenders like “Oppenheimer” and “The Zone of Interest.”

Andrew Scott’s remarkable performance in “All of Us Strangers” earned him the title of Best Actor, while Sandra Hüller was honored with the Best Actress prize for her roles in “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Interest.” Charles Melton won Best Supporting Actor for his role in “May December,” with Ryan Gosling and Robert Downey Jr. acknowledged as runners-up. Even the late Jean-Luc Godard, a notable filmmaker, was posthumously recognized for his Best Experimental Film, “Trailer of a Film That Will Never Exist: Phony Wars.”

Here is a complete list of the winners from the 2024 National Society of Film Critics awards:

– Best Picture: “Past Lives”
– Runners-up: “The Zone of Interest,” “Oppenheimer”

– Best Director: Jonathan Glazer (“The Zone of Interest”)
– Runners-up: Todd Haynes (“May December”), Christopher Nolan (“Oppenheimer”)

– Best Actor: Andrew Scott (“All of Us Strangers”)
– Runners-up: Jeffrey Wright (“American Fiction”), Cillian Murphy (“Oppenheimer”)

– Best Actress: Sandra Hüller (“Anatomy of a Fall,” “The Zone of Interest”)
– Runners-up: Emma Stone (“Poor Things”), Lily Gladstone (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)

– Best Supporting Actor: Charles Melton (“May December”)
– Runners-up: Robert Downey Jr. (“Oppenheimer”), Ryan Gosling (“Barbie”) (tie)

– Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph (“The Holdovers”)
– Runners-up: Penélope Cruz (“Ferrari”), Rachel McAdams (“Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret”)

– Best screenplay: Samy Burch (“May December”)
– Runners-up: Celine Song (“Past Lives”), David Hemingson (“The Holdovers”)

– Best cinematography: Rodrigo Prieto (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
– Runners-up: Łukasz Żal (“The Zone of Interest”), Hoyte van Hoytema (“Oppenheimer”)

– Best Experimental Film: Jean Luc-Godard’s “Trailer of a Film That Will Never Exist: Phony Wars”

– Film heritage award: Criterion Channel

– Film heritage award: Facets, Kim’s Video, Scarecrow Video, and Vidiots

– Special citation for a film awaiting U.S. distribution: Víctor Erice’s “Close Your Eyes”

These awards reflect the exceptional talent and creativity within the film industry and honor the outstanding contributions made by filmmakers, actors, and other professionals in the field.